New Normal

Week two of my new normal started out a little wonky. Yesterday, Lyle was up about 45 minutes earlier then usual. Then he took a super early nap and woke up barely an hour later. We managed to head out to the library’s story time and he enjoyed himself there but the trip to the park right next door lasted less then 10 minutes due to crankipotimus signing for sleep. So nap number two started before noontime, ooh boy it was going to be a day. Thankfully he woke up happy and we headed over to my aunt’s pool with Kiki for a quick dip to tide us over until dinner time and dad’s return home. 

So that’s Monday, but Tuesday, well this is where things get wonky on my side. For the last seven months I’ve been working in an office Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. We have sent Lyle to a wonderful daycare center that we love and he loves and thrives at. Recently, though, I stopped working outside the home. Well, I stopped ‘working’ for anyone but myself and my family. That’s great, you say, but here’s the strange part – we are keeping Lyle in daycare two days a week. Tuesday and Thursday he will continue to go for a full day of daycare. [We are looking into other options for a shorter day, but this center only allows full days and most places who offer 1/2 days the child needs to be 2.] So here I am on a Tuesday, Greg at work, Lyle happy at school, and me – well I’m at home and I’m not sure what to do with myself.

Now I know a lot of you probably want to punch me in the face. I know I am beyond lucky. I know I am beyond blessed. But this new normal for me is just so abnormal that I’m not sure what to do with myself. I really try make the most of our days together – playdates, outings, book reading, playing outside at the water table, everything is all about Lyle those days. Tuesdays and Thursdays are about doing errands, chores, preparing food for the week, organizing and planning our lives. Oh and they are supposed to be a little about me — and what about that second baby I’m growing? Yeah, him/her too. 

One thing I do know about this new normal, is that I need to learn to focus and accomplish things or this time is going to fly by without me even knowing it. Only 6 more months until our somewhat stable lives are turned upside down again by another little life – now *that* will be a really new normal! 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “New Normal

  1. I think it’s great that you are a SAHM now! It sounds like Lyle really loves daycare – it’s awesome that you are going to continue taking him. He’ll benefit from that social interaction. And don’t worry – this whole new routine will become normal real fast and you’ll fill your days “off” quicker than you think.

  2. Brandi

    I love being a SAHM, have been from the start. 10 months later, I am trying to find ways to give myself a regularly scheduled break because it is needed for me to be a fully present and patient parent. If you do nothing with those days beyond nap and loaf, I say go for it. You need rest, especially since you’re growing another one. Don’t fill them up with too big of a to-do list. Lyle, and #2, will thank you for it later.

Leave a Reply

