Fourty

A few weeks ago I Instagramed [new word!] a photo of myself walking into Target with an empty basket asking, “Do you think I can make it out of here without spending $50??” – Many people laughed, one even said, “I think they should just collect a $100 bill when you walk in the door!” As predicted I spent $62 when all I was planning to get was a birthday card. #fail

How easily do we all spend $50, $100 without even blinking. How about spending less than $40 on four toys that will keep your 6-12 month old happy and entertained? Here are four of Lyle’s favorite toys that he has been playing with for months and still loves them today, less then two weeks before his 1st birthday. [ahh!]

Melissa & Doug’s Triple Stacker – $13.50 

I found ours at Marshall’s for $9.99!

He cannot get enough of this toy. He is so good at it too, it’s kinda crazy. He doesn’t stack them in order at all, but he just takes them on and off and on and off and on and … you get it. Love. He also likes to put them on two of the stacks and then carry it around by the third. It’s heavy. I don’t know how he does it! It’s a freaking wood toy. Regardless, this one is such a winner and I know he is no where near done with playing with it! 

Image

Learning Curve Stack Up Cups – $3.99

Lyle is OBSESSED!! At first he crawled towards them and knocked them over whenever we stacked them. Now he can stack them and sort them and bangs them together and he simply can’t get enough of them. It’s amazing, $4?! Get two sets! 

Image

Soft Shapes Book – Trucks - $10.00

Also available in colors, counting, shapes, animals, & dinosaurs! 

Lyle is a book lover – YAY – although he still prefers board books to story books, we’ll get there soon – and this one is great because he can flip through it and pop out the shapes himself. We love to “drive” the cars around and he laughs whenever we say “vroooom vroom” and drive them on his legs. 

Image

 

Fischer Price Rock a Stack – $8.79

(We actually have an Infantino Brand one just like it but I cannot find it online anywhere, it is hand-me-down from my niece and nephew so it’s a few years old)

Again, I know I have said it with the first three but Lyle loves this stacker too! He carries it around with him from room to room. This one he can accurately stack the right sizes in the right order. 

Image

**BONUS**

Little Tikes 5 in 1 Adjustable Gym – $40.00

And one bonus toy – this on is $40 all on it’s own – but Lyle has been playing with it since he was a tiny baby laying on his back underneath it, now he walks up and sits on it and pushes the buttons to play the music. Then he dances. It’s hilarious!  

Image 
 
Hope that you guys enjoyed that – I love to know what kids are playing with because although Lyle loves these toys I can already tell he is starting to get over them!  Any suggestions for a 1+ year old are welcome!
 
 
 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Fourty

  1. Noah needs more soft books! He loves playing with them at school but we have none at home :)

  2. I just posted about Sam’s current favorite toys: http://theculinarycouple.com/2012/08/08/favorite-toys-at-ten-months/. He’s in a stacking phase, too! On his first birthday wish list: wooden blocks, a drum (yes, I’m probably crazy), and open-the-flap books.

  3. Brianna

    I just bought Annabelle (10 months) the B. Woofer Hound Dog Guitar (recommended for 2 – 6 years) and she loves it. Her daddy plays the guitar for her every night at bedtime so I thought it was perfect. I catch her playing it, humming and “dancing” to the songs. So cute! It has a lot of features and functions so it’s unlikely to get boring too quickly. And the songs/sounds are unannoying. Here’s the link: http://www.target.com/p/b-woofer-hound-dog-guitar/-/A-13527758#?lnk=sc_qi_detaillink

  4. I love places like TJ Maxx and Marshalls. Children’s books are so dang expensive; like 10-15 bucks a pop expensive. They are much cheaper at these stores. Puzzles too! :)

  5. I never know when to pull out some of the “older” toys for our 5 month old but your post makes me want to pull out the stacking cups and Rock a Stack (is that really what it’s called? I had no idea….) to let her start playing with them.

Leave a Reply

