{{we’re having a party}}

Woo! Our big summer bash is only two weeks away now, which means my crazy anal self is planning every single detail! It seems like we are going to have a BIG showing and I am so excited for it. We invited about 80 people and so far we have 64 confirmed and a few “most likely” — the invitee list ranges from 2 weeks old (Greg’s cousin’s newborn twins) to two 95-year-olds (my grandfather and Greg’s grandmother!) — so we literally have ALL ages coming and it’s hard to think of/ plan activities for everyone. I’m writing my current to do / to buy list here so I remember the first  big party we threw at our house and how it all came together.

The Meal

  • Meatballs (my mom is bringing in slow cooker)
  • Pulled Pork (Greg’s mom is bringing in slow cooker)
  • Chicken Tenders & Sauces
  • Mini Sandwiches (Ham, Turkey, Roast Beef & cheeses)

The Apps

  • Mexican Dip
  • Buffalo Dip
  • Artichoke Dip (looking for a recipe?)
  • Fruit Kebobs
  • Keilbasa & Pineapple
  • Pasta Salad
  • Chips / Pretzels / Popcorn / Peanuts (in the shells like at baseball games!)
  • *Also will have a few hot dogs and hamburgers for kids and/or anyone else who doesn’t like the other stuff, but I’m sorry – who wouldn’t?!*

The Desserts

  • Funfetti Cupcakes
  • Hoodsie cups (if you don’t know what these are, then you aren’t from New England, google it – they are amazing)
  • Klondike Bars
  • Popcicles / Fudgecicles
  • Two people also offered to bring desserts

The Drinks

  • Beer
  • Wine
  • Soda
  • Water
  • Juice Boxes

The Fun for the Adults

  • Bag Toss
  • Horse Shoe
  • Whiffle Ball

The Fun for the Kids

  • Bubbles
  • Chalk
  • Balls of many shapes and sizes

Must also buy

  • Flowers
  • Balloons
  • Sunscreen
  • Bug Spray

I am sure I am forgetting things — please help me out so I’m not scrambling the day before!

WOAH! That is insane. I am so excited about it though! WOOOOHOOO!!!!!

PS – My computer bought the farm on Friday afternoon and I am waiting til this weekend to go buy my new computer because it is tax free weekend here in Mass – but I’m SO happy to say I am getting a Mac!!!!!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “{{we’re having a party}}

  1. Paper products! Cups, napkins, plates, utensils!

    I’m so similar.. I had lists everywhere for my parent’s 25th anniversary party. It helps out so much and it’s easy to cross everything off.

    Let me know if you need anything!

  2. All the dishes sound so yummy. You are making me hungry just reading this post!!

  3. So excited! As your niece and nephew’s mom I am tickled to see the juice boxes included, though it must feel weird to you guys to have them on your list. I’d love to bring something too – let me know where you think you could use another something. Your first summer bash! =)

  4. Holy wow, that’s a lot of people! Can I come? 🙂

    (I did have to google Hoodsie cups!)

  5. @Kate – we’ve been gathering those for a while, I think we’re good on that front! Most of it is finger foodie!
    @Kimberly – Yeah I’m pretty much dying to eat the food at this party too!
    @Kerri / McCashew – HA, well I almost put “dessert – Kerri” but then I realized I hadn’t asked you yet. Oops. Will you and Caro make a dessert of some sort?!
    @Layla – No kidding right? We invited so many people guessing that most would have other summer plans, but lucky us, everyone is coming!! Too bad ice cream doesn’t ship in the mail cause it’s the best thing ever and I would totally send one to you!

  6. Sara

    ummmm, where was my invite?!?

    (Also, I just got a new Mac and it’s lovely – you’re going to love it!)

  7. i’m soo glad you posted your food menu! i’m planning a baby shower for next weekend and i needed ideas for food!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

