secret single behavior

Charlotte had a hard time after she was married because she didn’t want to stop poring over her … pores. Miranda wore those creepy moisturizing gloves while Carrie ate Saltines standing in her kitchen. Me? What’s my secret single behavior … peanut butter + a spoon. Yup, scoop it out, eat it up. Devour it. Come on, it’s not that gross …

I believe we’ve spoken before about how Greg travels a lot for work. He also fairly frequently has work dinners, like tonight where I’m here to fend for myself. I try to keep myself busy but usually my nights end up either on the phone with my one of my long distance friends or with my laptop on my lap in front of the TV – neither of which isn’t the worst thing ever. But I’m looking to motivate myself to do a few more things for myself. This is when I could or should be going to the gym, painting my nails (I get pedicures, but I pick my manicures so it’s not worth it!), picking out clothes for the week, or even writing a blog post (Hi!). I could also be doing things around the house — including continuing on my decluttering rampage from the weekend or doing a load of laundry, or cleaning the tub so I can take a bath.  Clearly the list could go on and on. I’m not going all woe-is-me on you here. I am lucky. When Greg is around – he is super helpful in doing all of the above things and more (especially the dishes, which I hate). But what I want to know is – how do you handle your spouse or significant other being away? Any thoughts on helping me through some of the longer absences? Also – I have a baby coming, and that doesn’t mean the travel will stop, any ideas around how I can handle that?

Oh and come on … now you know my secret single behavior, what’s yours?

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “secret single behavior

  1. Hmmm, secret single behavior. I would have to go with eating frosting straight out of the container. Preferably rainbow chip. Yup. It may sound disgusting, but for someone like me who has an entire mouth full of sweet teeth, it’s heaven. 🙂 The last time I did that was when I lived on my own, so yes…definitely “secret single” behavior.

    As for what I do when hubs is away: I try to keep myself busy. I often will go and do things that I know hubs doesn’t enjoy, like wandering around the home section at Target, just browsing. He doesn’t understand the concept of “looking just to look” – he’s more of a “get in and get out” kind of guy. 🙂 For longer absences, I try to tackle bigger projects. I painted our kitchen cabinets when he was gone on a long weekend. Obviously painting + pregnancy isn’t the best idea, but maybe getting room plans/redecorating ideas together might be something to tackle? That way, it would give you something to do together when he gets home. Good luck!

    • Rainbow chip is the ONLY kind of frosting I will eat! Funfetti ALL THE WAY!!

      See I wish that I enjoyed shopping!! I feel like that would totally be a good time suck, but too bad I hate it!

  2. When Kevin is away I’m either super motivated and go for a run followed by cleaning OR I’m lazy and watch TV all day eating chips on the couch.

  3. Great post lady!

    My secret single behavior is when my husband travels for work I sometimes don’t wash my hair the whole time he is gone. Gross, I know!

    When he travels my goal is to spend half the time being productive and half the time being as lazy as I want to be. So if I know he is going away 2 nights I will MAKE myself be productive the first night (re-organizing a drawer, going to the market, etc) and the second night I plop myself on the couch for a lazyfest. It works for me!

    After baby I have no idea.. but know that I will also be in your shoes! We will figure it out together!

    • That’s a good goal with the 50/50 idea. One night being good, one night not-so-much! Yes glad we can figure out the world of baby boys and traveling husbands together!

  4. Sara

    Eating peanut butter with a spoon is not secret single behavior, I do that in front of my husband all the time! Secret single behavior is lying on the couch watching Lifetime original movies, eating cheese and crackers and calling it dinner.

    If you figure out how to be productive let me know, because I am terrible about it – with or without Rob around.

  5. Amy

    Honestly, I don’t have a whole lot of secret single behavior–hubs and I have been together 7 years so he has seen the whole gamut of me, hahaha. If I had to pick something though, it would EASILY be having popcorn for dinner. I do it every time he’s gone and I LOVE it! 🙂

  6. I honestly always have secret single behavior, even in front of Josh. I honestly have no idea why that guy married me.

  7. On Wednesday nights Brian doesn’t get home until 10pm. I’ve decided Wednesdays are now my Mac & Cheese nights. I especially enjoy eating it out of the pot with a giant spoon. Suuuuuuuper classy.

Leave a Reply

