big little man – (birth part 1)

{It is hard for me to write this – because I want to write a beautifully written, loving post dedicated to the most life changing day of my life – so bear with me as it might take a few days to get through it all.}

Since week 30 my stomach’s fundal height had been measuring 2 weeks ahead. I was told by many people not to get excited about an early birth because of this — it is just one of many types of measurements. I also knew the date of conception pretty accurately so I was sure the date wasn’t two full weeks off. So August 24th was still the date we were going with.

The weekend of my 35th week I was blessed with a family baby shower. It just so happened that a cousin of mine was due the week before me – so we partied together. Additionally, that weekend coincided with my grandfather’s 95th birthday – so there was a party to celebrate him too! My grandfather delivered hundreds of babies in his life as a doctor, he also raised nine children, and watched nearly 30 grand children be born. These two new babies are his 12th and 13th great-grandchildren – so he knows a thing or two about pregnancy, babies and birth. The first thing out of his mouth when he saw me “You’ve dropped – you have two weeks.” Very straight forward, very matter of fact.  I said “oh no, 5 more weeks!” He said, “Colleen you’ll have that baby in 2 weeks, I promise.” So … my mind started to get excited. I tried not to get too excited but, hey, he knows what he is talking about, right??

At 36 weeks we had maternity photos taken. I felt huge and looked huge … but the photos are beautiful. (I am so so happy I took them … I just wish we had done them about two weeks earlier.) The photographer was amazing and quickly put a few teasers on facebook which I shared saying “four more weeks!” – Welp, once again, the many friends and family in both the medical field and those not – said “oh wow, you’ve dropped – that baby is coming early!” or “wow! four more weeks?!?  I don’t think so!”  Once again, don’t get me excited people, I. have. four. weeks.

So then at my next doctors appointment she told me we would definitely need to do an ultrasound at 38 weeks to be sure of his size since once again he was measuring big. She started mentioning things like shoulder distocia and c-section, something I obviously wanted to avoid. So the wait for that ultrasound was long and frustrating. Finally the day came, my bags were packed  and we went into the ultrasound room — lights went off, cold gel went on, technician ready, measurements made, size determined — 8lbs 15 ounces at 38 weeks. Holy cow people that is nearly 9 pounds. They supposedly gain 1/2 a pound a week! That’s 10 pounds by 40 weeks!  HOLY CANOLI!  So there was more talk about c-sections, inductions and a “call me and we’ll talk about next steps.”

Tears. Lots of tears. Lots of confusion. Lots of phone calls to my mom and other mom’s who had c-sections. And then a decision between Greg and I – let’s try for an early induction and see if my body can do this on it’s own. I wanted to try for a vaginal delivery. I wanted the opportunity to feel contractions. (what was I thinking!? ha) I wanted to not have abdominal surgery.  We called the doctor the next day (a Friday) and she wasn’t available to talk – but they scheduled us for Monday – okay people we’re a go. Monday induction. 38 weeks 4 days. This was really happening.

We spent the weekend cleaning the house, preparing for a baby, and attending the wedding of a friend (yes, seriously!).

Sunday night we got the call to get the timing of our induction — be at the hospital at 7:00am. Okay, we are ready. We are ready to meet our big little man.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “big little man – (birth part 1)

  1. Love reading this, Colleen, I’m excited for the next part!

  2. Oh man, I feel like I’m reading my future! I was 9lbs 12oz when I was born and my doctor said that means I’ll probably have a 10 lb baby! Eek! Hopefully my husband’s small baby genes will even things out.

  3. Love this post – take as much time as you need to write out your birth story! And, I’m not going to lie – my jaw dropped when you said Lyle was 8 pounds and 15 ounces at 38 weeks! Such a big boy! My doctor said that depending on “how things look” (i.e., if my baby is breech/transverse, which there’s a high possiblity of) I’m going to have a scheduled c-section. We’ll see! Looking forward to hearing more.

  4. Love this! Dying to read the rest!

Leave a Reply

