weverb11 day 1

More info on weverb11 here. 

Choose one word.

Encapsulate the year 2011 in one word. Explain why. Imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2012 for you?
______________________
Without question the word to describe 2011 is buoy.  Buoy is defined as both a noun and a verb, and for me it can also be defined as a baby.
The baby story was told here. Greg wanted a boat. We both wanted a baby. I wanted the baby first … so our baby-to-be-born was nicknamed buoy.
As a noun buoy is defined: An anchored float serving as a navigation mark.
           It is nice because our anniversary is January 2 – so each new year is a new year to our marriage. Easy to remember the date and easy to keep memories straight. 2011 was our second year of marriage. We didn’t have a “bad” first year (2010) but it was definitely crazy! We moved into our new house, which promptly got flooded (twice), we went to a whole bunch of weddings and flew all around the world (Greg even got stuck in Germany due to that ash cloud, remember that?). We had visitors galore and went through a short stint of trying to conceive.  Some people claim the first year is the hardest year of marriage and for us it was a happy whirlwind. With that said 2011 was more solid. More this is where we are. This is where we are staying. Sure it was still a little crazy as I was pregnant for most of it, but I think it is a better way for us to define what our lives will be like. Yes, we still traveled, but not as much. We spent time with family and friends, but also with each other. I hope 2011 is a good “navigation mark” because it was a pretty amazing year.
As a verb buoy is defined: Keep (someone or something) afloat. 
            Greg kept me afloat throughout my pregnancy and labor and delivery. He was there for me supporting me, boosting me up, keeping me from drowning in my pregnancy hormones. The idea of our little man Lyle also helped to keep me moving and motivated to live life to it’s fullest. I think Greg would agree that we spent a lot of time this year staying above water. Work for him has been intense and I think I have kept him stable and helped to remind him the important things in life. Lots of things came on our plates but we managed them all by helping each other stay afloat.
To look back on 2011 I hope the word that will describe the year is successful. Greg has a big year ahead of him with work. I too am heading back to work at the start of 2012 and hope to successfully manage working 3 days and staying at home with our little man 2 days. I want to be successful in all aspects of our life.
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “weverb11 day 1

  1. This was such a beautiful post! I love that you have such a positive reflection on the past year… it saddens me to see how many people are saying “I hope 2012 is better because 2011 was awful”. You’ve found so many bright spots in a year! And the word “buoy” is perfect.

Leave a Reply

